Former Gophers forward Garrett Wait scores in overtime to send UMass over Minnesota Duluth

In the process, the Minutemen overcame the Bulldogs' one-goal, third-period lead and prevented UMD from playing for its third consecutive national championship.

Minnesota Duluth's nine-game overtime win streak in NCAA tournament play, dating to 1985, also ended.

Cole Koepke and Tanner Laderoute scored for Minnesota Duluth (15-11-2), which was trying to become the first team to advance to four consecutive national championship games.

"I just told them to be proud of the accomplishment,'' Bulldogs coach Scott Sandelin said of his team's NCAA success.

Zac Jones had a first-period goal and Anthony Del Gaizo scored in the third for UMass (19-5-4) to tie it 2-2.

The Minutemen kept up the pressure, and Wait sent his team into the championship game, ending Minnesota Duluth's reign.

Powered by Blogger.