Preakness Stakes

The Preakness Stakes ends the Triple Crown today. Here's everything you need to know

Traditionally the middle jewel of the American Triple Crown held after the Kentucky Derby and before the Belmont Stakes, this year the Preakness Stakes concludes the three-race series for the first time in history.

The Belmont Stakes led off the Triple Crown in June, followed by the Kentucky Derby in September.

"While we had hoped to be able to welcome fans as we have for the past 145 years, the health and safety of our guests, horsemen, riders, team members and the community at large is, and will always be, our top priority," said Belinda Stronach in a statement .

Tiz the Law won the 152nd Belmont Stakes with Dr. Post and Max Player in second and third, respectively.

Tiz the Law as heavily favored to win the 146th running of the Kentucky Derby, but Authentic pulled off an upset win with Tiz the Law coming in second and Mr. Big News in third.

Tiz the Law will not be running in the Preakness as the horse is not ready, according to Jack Knowlton , managing partner of Sackatoga Stable.

Powered by Blogger.